display IAABO Colorado Board 4 - Area 9 - Longmont / Boulder Basketball Officials - Rules Question s [ 61885]

Welcome to the Area 9 Referees "Ask a Rules Question" Page.

Your Category Selection: Foul - Contact


Date submitted: 2015-12-13

Question submitted:
A1 was in the act of shooting, B2 fouls A2. A1 makes the shot, do you award A1 a free throw or let team A inbound ball at the closest spot where A1 was fouled. What if A1 missed his/her shot, no free throws awarded either? What if A2 was intentionally fouled by B1, what should I do next.

Rules Interpreter Response:
Hi Ted, I think your question meant award A2 a free throw or throw in. The answer depends on weather team A is in the bonus, if so shoot the free throw, otherwise throw in from the spot closest to the foul. There is no difference weather A1's shot is made or missed. An intentional foul would mean 2 foul shots plus a throw in for team A nearest the spot of the foul. It still has no effect on the shot A1 was taking.


Date submitted: 2013-03-10

Question submitted:
Two fouls occur simultaneously and against the same team: One, located in the backcourt occurs after the ball has moved well into the frontcourt, is called a technical foul by the Trail and involves a Team A player swinging his leg in a kicking motion at a Team B player. The kick by the Team A player does make contact with the Team B player. The second foul, called by the Lead, occurs in the paint area of the front-court and involves a Team A player fouling a Team B offensive player, who is in the act of shooting. The Lead and Trail's whistles go off at the same time - one does not come before the other. Our administration (which was incorrect) was to shoot two free throws for the technical foul with no players along the lane lines, then shoot two free throws for the shooting foul and playing from the point of the second shot - make or miss. We believe we should we have had Team B shoot the two foul free throws for the shooting foul first, followed by two free throws by Team B for the

Rules Interpreter Response:
While the whistles went off at the same time, there is no rule support for two fouls being committed by the same team at the same time except a multiple foul. The definition of a multiple foul is where two or more teammates foul a common opponent, which does not apply in this situation. (Rule 4-19-11). On this play, the officials must decide which foul occurred first. If the officials determine the foul in the backcourt occurred first, the second foul is ignored because it does not involve intentional or flagrant contact. (Rule 4-19-1-note). If this is the case, the foul in the backcourt cannot be a technical foul because it involves contact during a live ball. It must be a personal foul. (Rule 4-19-1). If the player 'kicked' the opponent, the foul is a flagrant personal foul and could by definition be deemed a fight. (Rule 4-19-4, 4-18-1) If the player 'tripped' the opponent, an intentional personal foul would be the correct ruling. (Rule 4-19-3). The penalty would be two free


Date submitted: 2013-03-10

Question submitted:
A simultaneous foul (personal or technical) by opponents is a situation in which there is a foul by both teams which occurs at approximately the same time, but are not committed by opponents against each other. Is it still a simultaneous foul if on is a technical and one is a personal? Definition says personal or technical, do they both have to be the same type or can they be one of each? If the shot was in the air then you would not have any team control so I would think that you would use the possession arrow as the point of interruption. If the shooter had not released the ball yet for the shot then I feel that Team A would get a throw in on the end line. NO FREE THROWS for either team. A1 is charged with a technical foul and B2 is charged with a personal foul .

Rules Interpreter Response:
Both components of a simultaneous foul must be the same type of foul. As is Situation 1, the officials must decide which foul occurred first and apply the appropriate penalties because there is no rule support for a combination simultaneous foul. The same rule principles stated in Situation 1 would apply in this situation. In addressing the point of interruption issue, if there is a simultaneous or double foul while the ball is in flight on a try, if the try is successful, the point of interruption is the throw-in after a successful goal. The possession arrow is used if the try.


Date submitted: 2013-03-03

Question submitted:
An official called a charge in a game and had the coach question it as the player was under the basket. The official told the coach that according to high school rules that it was a charge. The official also told me that he has been working with some officials that will not call a charge if the defensive player is under the basket. It seems that a state wide statement could be made in this so that a coach doesn't have it called one way one game and the other way the next. What do you think?

Rules Interpreter Response:
There is no rule or approved interpretation that supports this position. Under NFHS rules, a player is allowed any spot on the court (including a spot under the basket) provided the player obtains that spot legally (Rule 4-23-1). If illegal contact displaces that player or prohibits the player from performing his/her normal offensive or defensive movements is a foul (Rule 4-19-1). Therefore, officials should rule appropriately whenever there is illegal contact against a defender who has met all requirements for establishing and/or maintaining a legal position. The NFHS has not adopted the "Restricted Area" rule that has been implemented at other levels.


Date submitted: 2013-02-03

Question submitted:
At the top of the key offensive player A1 is contacted (hard) by defensive player B1 while player B1 is fighting through a legal pick. I determined that the contact was incidental since A1was in position to make a pass to a wide open A2 for a layup. Was my decision correct?

Rules Interpreter Response:
If I understand your question, then I believe your decision was correct. It is unlikely that the defender saw that A2 had an uncontested layup and fought through the screen to foul A1 to prevent the easy score. If that were the case then an intentional foul could be called, but that should be pretty obvious. Note: Intentional fouls include: 1) Excessive Contact on any player attempting a try 2) Grabbing or shoving a player from behind when an easy basket may be scored. 3) Grabbing and holding a player from behine or away from the ball These are 'non-basketball' acts and must be considered intentional fouls.


Foul - Bench Technical
Foul - Contact
Foul - Contact Defensive
Foul - Contact Offensive
Foul - Contact Player Control
Foul - Contact Team Control
Foul - Head Coaches Rule
Foul - Intentional
Foul - Player Technical
Foul - Substitute Technical
Foul - Team Technical
Live Ball / Dead Ball
Points of Emphasis
Resumption of Play
Scoring and Timing
Substitutes
Uniforms
Violation - Backcourt
Violation - Ball enters basket from below
Violation - Basket Interference
Violation - Closely Guarded
Violation - Dribble - Illegal
Violation - Excessive Swinging of Arm(s)/Elbow(s)
Violation - Fist
Violation - Free Throw
Violation - Goal Tending
Violation - Jump Ball
Violation - Kick
Violation - Out of Bounds
Violation - Ten seconds
Violation - Three seconds
Violation - Throw-in
Violation - Travel


Enter your First Name

Enter your Last Name

Enter your E-Mail address
You will be sent an e-mail when your question has been answered.

Select the Rule Question Category

Enter your Rules question here.
1000 characters maximum.
Characters over 1000 will be truncated.